American Society of Magazine Editors

Anna Wintour Elected to Magazine Editors' Hall of Fame

February 22, 2010

American Society of Magazine Editors to Honor the Editor-in-Chief of “Vogue” at National Magazine Awards Annual Gala.

NEW YORK, NY (February 22, 2010)—The American Society of Magazine Editors is pleased to announce the election of Anna Wintour to the Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame. Ms. Wintour will be honored at the National Magazine Awards Annual Gala at Alice Tully Hall in New York on April 22, 2010.

“Throughout her career, Anna Wintour has exemplified the highest standards of taste, in both journalism and fashion,” said Sid Holt, Chief Executive of ASME. “She has defined style for a generation of magazine readers and come to epitomize the essential qualities of editorial leadership.”

Anna Wintour began her career in 1970 in the fashion department of Harpers & Queen in London and joined Harper’s Bazaar after moving to New York in 1976. She became a senior editor at New York in 1981 and creative director at Vogue in 1983. In 1986, she was named editor-in-chief of British Vogue, then returned to the United States to edit HG from September 1987 until she was appointed editor-in-chief of Vogue in July 1988. In 2001, she led the launch of Teen Vogue and continues to serve as editorial director of the publication.

Ms. Wintour’s leadership within the fashion industry has won her the Council of Fashion Designers of America Lifetime Achievement Award and the Award of Courage for AIDS Research from the American Foundation for AIDS Research. She is an honorary trustee of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where she has co-chaired 11 fund-raising galas for the Costume Institute. In 2008, Ms. Wintour was awarded the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II, and in 2009 she was named to the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities by President Obama.

The Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame was established in 1995 by the American Society of Magazine Editors to recognize the editorial achievements and career-long accomplishments of leading journalists and honors distinguished service to the magazine industry. Among the members of the Hall of Fame best known to the general public are Martha Stewart, Tina Brown, Hugh Hefner, Gloria Steinem, Jann S. Wenner and Helen Gurley Brown.

The American Society of Magazine Editors is the principal organization for magazine journalists in the United States. The members of ASME include the editorial leaders of most major consumer and business magazines published in print and online. Founded in 1963, ASME works to defend the First Amendment and preserve editorial independence. ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards in association with the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

For more information about the Magazine Editors’ Hall of Fame and the National Magazine Awards Annual Gala, please go to